Spaced

81dJBt0lAZL._SL1500_

Before Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright made it big with Shaun of the Dead, they created a wonderful sitcom series called Spaced. It’s a criminally underrated show, full of pop culture and geek references.

One of the things that I’ll never forget is the ending to Season 2, Episode 6. If you haven’t seen the show, I highly recommend giving it a shot (they occasionally stream it on Netflix; unfortunately, the DVD set is now selling for over twice what I paid for it nearly a decade ago).

I’m linking to that ending because it still blows me away that Lucasfilm allowed a little British TV series to use the Star Wars music in that scene. I don’t recall the story of how Pegg and Wright were able to pull that off, but when I find it, I’ll post it here.

It was awesome to see Pegg in that Comic Con behind-the-scenes trailer. From Spaced to Star Trek to Star Wars, he’s had one of my favorite actor’s careers ever.

Note: Love the box set cover inspired by legendary Star Wars poster artist Drew Struzan

Leave a Reply

