Kevin Smith

kevin-smith-describes-star-wars-episode-vii-set-visit-165318-a-1404730832-470-75

Clerks and Chasing Amy are two of my all-time favorite movies, but for some reason I didn’t go ga-ga over the rest of Kevin Smith’s View Askewniverse. I liked Mallrats, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, and Dogma. I enjoyed Clerks II, but I never made it a point to check out his other films.* I occasionally enjoyed reading his blog posts, but that was it as far as my Smith geekdom went.**

However, one thing I always appreciated about Smith was his love of Star Wars. I could read or listen to his stories about a galaxy far, far away for days on end.

We come from the same generation, the one that saw the first movie multiple times in the theater. The one that played with the Star Wars toys and action figures incessantly. The one that knows that there’s only one Trilogy to rule them all (NSFW).

It was his story about his trip to the Episode VII set that got me pumped for The Force Awakens. He’s always been a master storyteller and his self-deprecating style is hilarious; after seeing him talk about Star Wars, there’s no way I would not rush out to see the movie on opening night.

In fact, watching him got me interested in catching up with the rest of his films. After Episode VII, of course.

I’ve embedded the story here, but be warned: while the clip is hilarious, there are plenty of F-bombs and other things that you probably don’t want to share with your office mates.

*Note: I did watch Jersey Girl on Netflix and I think I’m the only one who didn’t think it was as bad as the critics said it was. 

**Wait a minute, what was I thinking?! He Liked my tweet below. He’s the greatest director ever!

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 12.06.04 PM

Leave a Reply

