Opening Night: 2005

Star-Wars-Episode-III-Revenge-of-the-Sith-2005

When Episode III was released in May of 2005, I wasn’t fired up like I am now. I was a younger man then, with plenty of other things to preoccupy my time. A few of my friends were going to the midnight premiere, but I was nowhere near a movie theater that day.

I was down in Hollywood to watch a free Audioslave concert, as part of their appearance on the Jimmy Kimmel Show. Hollywood Boulevard was shut down and thousands of fans filled the street. It was a great show, despite the fact that singer Chris Cornell was battling some throat issues that night.

They played songs from the first two Audioslave albums with one of them being used for the show’s broadcast. The highlights by far, though, were when they did Soundgarden’s “Spoonman” and Rage Against the Machine’s “Killing in the Name.”

The second they launched into that Rage song was basically the end of the show. Apparently the crowd got a bit too rowdy for the LAPD’s taste.

I ended up seeing Episode III a few days later. Despite that ridiculous nooooooooooooooo, I liked Revenge of the Sith far more than Episodes I and II. After doing Machete Order recently, it still stands as the best of the prequels.

Forward to 2015: ten years later and “fired up” doesn’t describe how I feel about Episode VII. It’s like I’ve been saving up all of my Star Wars geekiness from the past decade just for The Force Awakens.

I certainly won’t be going to any free concerts tomorrow.

One more day!!!

Leave a Reply

